Happy Mothers’ Day!

Happy Mothers’ Day everybody! I hope all of the mothers reading have been well and truly spoiled. As you’ve probably guessed, today’s blog will largely be dedicated to the greatest person in the world as far as I’m concerned: my mum.

Here she is, being awesome.

Here she is, being awesome.

Like most little girls, my mum is the most important person in my life. She’s been my teacher, my doctor, my councillor, my dance partner and my best friend. She taught me that the best thing to be when you grow up is happy. She taught me how to mix a mean French Martini. She taught me that no matter how bad things get, life always looks a little brighter after a danceathon. I’m not going to say that she’s my whole world, but she’s a big, big chunk of it. Like Africa or something.

Here she is, trying to kill both of us.

Here she is, trying to kill both of us.

Getting drunk in public.

Getting drunk in public.

xmas

Casually meeting Take That.

Casually meeting Take That.

mum and soph

I know I’ve said this before, but I don’t know what I would have done if I’d lost her. Happy Mothers’ Day, mum. I love you.

It’s actually not just my mum who I want to talk about this Mothers’ Day. A few of you might remember my back sign from last year’s Race:

back sign

What most of you probably won’t know, is that my  dad was one of those kids. He lost his mum to breast cancer, not too long after I was born.

Look! It's little me!

Look! It’s little me!

Cancer took her away before I got a chance to know her any better than this. It’s because of cancer that all I have of my granny is flowers, butterflies and a little diamond.

granny marion

Me and religion decided to go our separate ways a long time ago. But I’d be lying if I said that I didn’t say hello to every red admiral butterfly I see.

Photo on 10-03-2013 at 14.30

It’s because of cancer that my dad doesn’t have a mum to spoil this Mothers’ Day. I want to make sure that no mother has to sit down her children and tell them she has cancer. I want to make it so that everyone gets to keep their mum around until they are old and grey. I want every grandmother to be able to see her grandaughters grow up. I know she’d be proud, but it’s cancer’s fault that she can’t tell me that herself. That she has to send down little flurries of snow to say hello instead of picking up the phone.

Please give all that you can this Mothers’ Day. Together we will beat cancer.

 

*UPDATE at 5pm, just another example of my mum kicking ass:

Screen Shot 2013-03-10 at 16.58.31

One comment on “Happy Mothers’ Day!

  1. […] story, so I won’t go back through it again (if you don’t, click right here and here to read all about […]

Leave a Reply

